The Naghash Ensemble

18 July 2018

“Songs of Exile”

Music by: John Hodian
Texts by: Mkrtich Naghash

• Hasmik Baghdasaryan | soprano
• Tatevik Movsesyan | soprano
• Arpine Ter-Petrosyan | alto
• Emmanuel Hovhannisyan | duduk, zourna
• Aramayis Nikoghosyan | oud
• Tigran Hovhannisyan | dhol, doumb
• John Hodian | piano

“The Sound of Ancient Armenia reinvented for the 21st Century”—Tigran Mansurian
The Naghash Ensemble combines the earthy spirituality of Armenian folk song, new classical music, contemporary post-minimalism and the energy of rock and jazz. Three brilliant female vocalists and some of Armenia’s finest instrumentalists on duduk, oud, dhol and piano play new music based on sacred texts by the medieval Armenian mystic poet and priest, M’krtich Naghash.
Written by Armenian-American composer John Hodian, The Naghash Ensemble’s “Songs of Exile” is a profound meditation on man’s relationship to God from the perspective of a monk forced to live in exile for many years. Part folk music, part classical and profoundly moving.

Free Admission